community-based, non-corporate, participatory media

About Contact Us Policies Mailing Lists Radio Video Publish! Calendar Search

View article without comments

Save Our Transit
by Jamie Walker Sunday, Jan. 28, 2007 at 6:14 PM
JamieAwalker@gmail.com 814-279-9943 2312 Murray Ave Pittsburgh, PA 15217

On January 22, 2007, over a hundred Pittsburghers rallied together to protest the proposed Port Authority Transit service cuts. Facing a deficit of $80 million, the Pittsburgh Port Authority plans to cut services by 25%, eliminating 222 bus and rail routes entirely. They also plan to raise fares by as much as 75 cents and to cut the jobs of 400 transit workers by June 2007. Help spread the message to our politicians that Pennsylvania needs more funding instead of stranding thousands of Pittsburgh riders without public transportation. Edited Video of Rally and Public Hearing - 4 minutes

video: MPEG at 54.2 mebibytes

THANK YOU!
by Katrina Kilgore Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2007 at 2:56 PM

Your piece is excellent, I will be sharing it with my commuter club at Point Park University. Thank you for using your talent and skills to draw attention to an issue that is being pushed aside by our government.

what can I do?
by janet Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2007 at 5:21 PM

What can I do to help?

What can we do?
by Ido Monday, Feb. 05, 2007 at 11:17 AM
idoroll@gmail.com

I join Janet's question.
Can you please list here email addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, etc (perhaps also with a template letter), so we can take an action?
These probably should include the Mayor and others, but I don't really know who.

Also, is there some online petition or something?

Please, help us help

What you can do
by Jeremy Monday, Feb. 05, 2007 at 1:31 PM
jeremy@thomasmertoncenter.org 412-361-3022 5125 Penn ave

One easy first step is to contact the group who organized this event. Their name is Save Our Transit. You can call them at the Thomas Merton Center at 412-361-3022 and figure out how to plug-in/help.

here is something to do
by donahue Tuesday, Feb. 06, 2007 at 2:57 PM

This is a lot. The Gov. and Onorato are most important but you can pick some of the other names as well. Allegheny County Council is alos on this list. No fancy message just that the Port Authority must not be allowed to implement this terrible plan.

There will be other activities and there is also a petition drive being managed by the Mon-Valley Unemployed Committee. Their phone # 1-800-334-788

URGENT ACTION NEEDED TO SAVE OUR TRANSIT!

The Port Authority of Allegheny County has plans to eliminate over half of its bus routes. There are too many routes being eliminated or shortened to list here. If you live in Pittsburgh and think that you are safe think again. Life does not end at the city line. City neighborhoods like Brookline and Troy Hill are getting hit hard and whole sections of Allegheny County will lose all public transit service. If you live in anywhere in Allegheny County and ride public transit make your voice heard.
Please tell these elected officials that these cuts must not happen.
This madness must stop!


Gov. Ed Rendell
225 Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120
717-787-2500
http://www.governor.state.pa.us
email via web site



Sen. Jim Ferlo
Senate Box 203038
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3038
717-787-6123 or 412-621-3006
ferlo@pasenate.com


Dan Onorato
Allegheny County Executive
436 Grant Street, Rm101
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
(Phone) 412-350-6500
executive@county.allegheny.pa.us

Sen. John Pippy
Senate Box 203037
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3037
717-787-5839 or 412-262-2260
jpippy@pasen.gov

Sen. Wayne Fontana
Senate Box 203042
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3042
717-787-5300 or 412-344-2551
fontana@pasenate.com

Sen. J. Barry Stout
Senate Box 203046
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3046
717-787-1463 or 724-225-5400
stout@pasenate.com

Sen. Gerald J. LaValle
Senate Box 203047
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3047
717-787-3076
lavalle@pasenate.com

Sen. Sean Logan
Senate Box 203045
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3045
717-787-5580 or 724-334-1143 or 412-380-2242
logan@pasenate.com

Sen. Jay Costa
Senate Box 203043
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3043
717-787-7683
costa@pasenate.com





Sen Jane Orie
Senate Box 203040
Harrisburg, PA 17120-3040
717-787-6530 or 412-630-9466
jorie@pasen.gov


Hon. Nick Kotik
PO Box 202045
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2045
(717) 783-3780 or 412-429-5091
nkotik@pahouse.net

Hon. T. Mark Mustio
PO Box 202044
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2044
(717) 787-6651 or 412-262-3780
mmustio@pahousegop.com

Hon. Thomas C. Petrone
PO Box 202027
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2027
(717) 787-6410 or 412-928-9514
tpetrone@pahouse.net

Hon. Sean M. Ramaley
PO Box 202016
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2016
(717) 787-4444 or 412-761-1701 sramaley@pahouse.net

Hon. Matthew Smith
PO Box 202042
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2042
(717) 783-1850 or 412-571-2169 mhsmith@pahouse.net




Hon Don Walko
PO Box 202020
Harrisburg, PA 17120
717-787-5470 or 412-321-5523
dwalko@pahouse.net

Hon. Jesse White
PO Box 202046
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2046
(717) 783-6437 or (724) 947-4422 (Represents the McDonald area)

Hon. Paul Costa
PO Box 202034
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2034
(717) 783-1914 or 412-824-3400
pcosta@pahouse.net

Hon. Joseph Preston, Jr.
PO Box 202024
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2024
(717) 783-1017 or 412-361-3692
jpreston@pahouse.net

Hon. Marc J. Gergely
PO Box 202035
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2035
(717) 783-1018 or 412-754-3500
mgergely@pahouse.net

Hon. Harry Readshaw
PO Box 202036
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2036
(717) 783-0411 or 412-881-4208
hreadsha@pahouse.net

Hon. David K. Levdansky
PO Box 202039
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2039
(717) 783-1020 or 412-384-2258
dlevdans@pahouse.net

Hon. Anthony M. DeLuca
PO Box 202032
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2032
(717) 783-1011or 412-793-2448
tdeluca@pahouse.net

Hon. Frank Dermody
PO Box 202033
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2033
(717) 787-3566 or 724-274-4770
fdermody@pahouse.net

Hon. Joseph F. Markosek
CHAIR OF HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE
PO Box 202025
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2025
(717) 783-1012 or 412-856-8284
jmarkose@pahouse.net

Hon. Dan Frankel
PO Box 202023
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2023
(717) 705-1875 or 412-422-1774
dfrankel@pahouse.net

Hon. Lisa Bennington
PO Box 202021
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2021
717-705-7011 or 412-361-2040
lbennington@pahouse.net

Hon. Jake Wheatley
PO Box 202019
Harrisburg, PA 17120
717-783-3783 or 412-471-7760
jwheatley@pahouse.net

Hon. Chelsa Wagner
109 Irvis Office Building
PO Box 202022
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2022
(717) 783-1582 repwagner@pahouse.net

Hon. William C. Kortz, II
PO Box 202038
Harrisburg, PA 17120-2038
(717) 787-8175 or 412-466-1940
______________________________________
Allegheny County Council mailing address:
436 Grant Street, Room 119
Pittsburgh, PA 15219

James Burn. Jr., 412-350-6535 jburn@county.allegheny.pa.us

Matt Drozd, 412-350-6525 mdrozd@county.allegheny.pa.us

Jan Rea 412-350-6530
jrea@county.allegheny.pa.us

Michael Finnerty 412-350-6540 mfinnerty@county.allegheny.pa.us

Vincent Gastgeb 412-350-6545 vgastgeb@county.allegheny.pa.us

Joan Cleary 412-350 6550
jcleary@county.allegheny.pa.us

Susan Caldwell 412-350 6555 scaldewll@county.allegheny.pa.us

Charles Martoni 412-350-6560 cmartoni@county.allegheny.pa.us

Robert Macey 412-350-6565 rmacey@county.allegheny.pa.us

William Robinson 350-6570 wrobinson@county.allegheny.pa.us

Rich Fitzgerald 412-350-6575 rfitzgerald@county.allegheny.pa.us

William Lestitian 412-350-6580 wlestitian@county.allegheny.pa.us

Brenda Frazier 412-350-6585 bfrazier@county.allegheny.pa.us

John DeFazio 412-350-6516 jdefazio@county.allegheny.pa.us

David Fawcett 412-350-6520 dfawcett@county.allegheny.pa.us

______________________________________

For additional information contact:
SAVE OUR TRANSIT
NO SERVICE CUTS! NO FARE HIKES!
412-361-3022, zeidersamanda@gmail.com
http://www.saveourtransit.org or http://www.savePATnow.org

© 2001-2009 Pittsburgh Independent Media Center. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not endorsed by the Pittsburgh Independent Media Center.
Disclaimer | Privacy